GDPR

On May 25th, 2018, the new data protection law came into force.
Here you'll find an overview of the new requirements and necessary actions.

The GDPR

Overview of the new data protection law

What's it all about?

The new General Data Protection Regulation (short. GDPR) defines, how companies handle and process personalised data. The new law aims to professionalize how companies handle the data protection of EU citizens.

Who is affected by the GDPR?

Everyone, who is collecting and processing personalised data, no matter whether it's a company, society or authority.

What is personalised data?

Personalised data is data that refers to a (theoretically identifiable) person (e.g. prospective clients, employees, applicants…). Even the IP address is considered as personalised data, since it only requires little effort to identify a person by his or her IP address. This means: As soon as you're using an analysis tool (like Google Analytics) or even if your server only saves access files, you are processing personalised data.

Can I simply ignore this topic?

For sure ;). However, we don't recommend to. Considering sanctions up to 2% (resp. up to 4%) of the annual sales, data protection breaches can become quite costly. So take a deep breath and get to it – once started, implementing the GDPR is not as hard as it might seem.

Don't panic :)
GDPR for companies: No worries about the new privacy regulation

GDPR and your company

How your company is affected by the new data protection regulation

Record of processing activities

You are obliged to establish and maintain a record of processing agreements as soon as you are processing personal data on a regular basis. This applies, e.g., as soon as you are managing contact data with the help of a software application or tracking and analyzing access data with the help of Google Analytics.

In the record of processing activities, you specify how your company handles personal data. You list, what kind of data is collected and how long this data is stored. Furthermore, you inform about the kind of security measures that are installed in order to protect personal data.



Contents of the record of processing activities

1
Basic details about your company

This part is quickly fulfilled and consists of general data about your company like company name, contact details, registration number, name of your data protection officer etc.

2
List of the individual processing activities

Subsequently, you're listing whose personal data is processed, in what kind of way, to whom you transfer this data to and how long the data is stored.

3
Technical and organizational measures

This section contains information about how your data is protected from loss and unauthorized access, e.g. through backups, encryption, access control etc.



Further Information & Examples

  • Information about the record of processing activities
    Learn more

  • Example record by the WKO
    Download PDF

  • Information for German companies
    (with examples from page 29 onward)
    Download PDF


Data Processing Agreements


In order to pass on personal data to your external service providers while complying with the GDPR, you have to conclude a data processing agreement. Thereby, you ensure that your data is protected and processed in legal conformity by third parties.

You have to file a data processing agreement with every company you pass personal data on to: From external accounting and hosting providers to Google & sternpunkt. In the latter case, please send an e-mail to support@sternpunkt.at – we'll gladly send you our data processing agreement.




Data Protection Officer

Do I need a data protection officer?

In Austria, it is only necessary to appoint a data protection officer if the core business of your company is to monitor people on a regular basis (e.g. banks or insurance companies), or in case you are processing sensitive data (health data, genetic or biometric data, data of criminals etc.)

In Germany, ou are required to appoint a data protection officer as soon as more than 10 employees of your company are regularly processing personal data.

Who can take over responsibility?

You can either appoint one of your employees as data protection officer or commission an external service provider. It is also possible to appoint a data protection officer voluntarily, who supports you on all topics concerning data protection and assists you in implementing the required measures.

A word of warning: If you appoint a data protection officer voluntarily, it is not possible to reverse this appointment without further ado.

Tip: To find out if you are required to appoint a data protection officer, it is often sufficient to call the WKO or – for German companies – ask your relevant chamber of commerce.




Let's go!
location of the internet advertising agency sternpunkt: Mondsee in Upper Austria

GDPR for Websites & Online Shops

How to get your online presence ready for the GDPR

Whether it's a website or an online shop: In order to comply by the GDPR, you likely have to make some changes regarding your online presence. As a start, we're listing the most frequent adjustments:

Privacy Policy

Your privacy policy has to comply by the new GDPR regulations: Inform the user about his right of disclosure, correction, deletion and withdrawal and explain, why you're collecting personalised data. 

Cookie Notice

Nowadays, every stat-of-the-art website uses cookies. Inform you users about this fact with the help of a cookie banner. Subsequently, go into detail about the personalised data collected by cookies in your privacy policy.

Forms

With the DSGVO becoming effective, you are only allowed to collect personalised data that is actually required in order to process a request. Review, which data is mandatory and adjust your form fields accordingly. Furthermore, add a link to your privacy policy and state, how you are using the required data.

Newsletter

In order to achieve legal conformity for your newsletter registrations, we recommend using a double-opt-in process. In your registration form, inform about the contents of your newsletter and link to your privacy policy. In case you utilize a third-party provider like Mailchimp or CleverReach: Add this info to your privacy policy as well and sign a data processing agreement with your provider.

Google Analytics

Anonymize the IP addresses collected by Google Analytics to comply by the GDPR. In addition, enter into a data processing agreement with Google. Supplement your privacy policy about the use of Google Analytics and provide a possibility to opt out.

Facebook Pixel

As with AdSense and DoubleClick, inform your visitors in your privacy policy about the use of the Facebook pixel and provide a possibility to opt out. When using target audiences (custom audience or look-alike-audience), your visitor has to actively agree to the processing of his personalised data.

Google DoubleClick, AdSense & Co.

When using these tools, you should inform your visitors accordingly. Add the corresponding information to your privacy policy and provide the possibility to opt-out. In case you utilise personalised advertising, adjust your cookie notice accordingly.

Social Sharing Buttons

Whether it's "like" or "retweet": In order to comply by the GDPR when using social sharing buttons, implement a 2-click-solution (e.g. Shariff).

Third-party plugins

Google Maps, Google Fonts or Instagram plugin? As soon as personalised data is processed by third party plugins, you have to add this information to your privacy policy. If possible, it's recommendable to provide your visitors with the possibility to opt out.

Further Information

Useful links concerning the GDPR

For Austrian companies:

Further information, examples and handy checklists can be found on the website of the WKO: www.wko.at

An overview about all service offers of the WKO concerning data protection (like webinars or consulting) can be found here.

For German companies:

If you'd like to obtain a deeper level of knowledge concerning the GDPR, we recommend the T3N guidebook. It contains an easy to understand overview, written in a language easily understandable for non-lawyers and contains many examples and templates: t3n.de

Further questions?

No problem! Leave us a note, we're happy to help!

support@sternpunkt.at

The small print:
The information on this page is compiled for you in all conscience and refers to Austria, if not mentioned otherwise. We do not guarantee for the accuracy or completeness of the information. For specific legal questions concerning data protection, we kindly ask you to contact a certified data protection officer or a specialized lawyer.

DSGVO

Am 25. Mai 2018 tritt das neue Datenschutzgesetz in Kraft.
Hier erhalten Sie einen Überblick über die Neuerungen und notwendigen Schritte.

Die DSGVO

Das neue Datenschutzgesetz im Überblick

Worum geht's?

Die neue Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (kurz: DSGVO) regelt, wie Unternehmen mit personenbezogenen Daten umgehen. Durch das neue Gesetz soll der Umgang mit dem Thema Datenschutz EU-weit professionalisiert werden.

Wen betrifft die DSGVO?

Jeden, der personenbezogene Daten verarbeitet. Unabhängig davon, ob es sich um Unternehmen, Vereine oder Behörden handelt. 

Was sind personenbezogene Daten?

Personenbezogene Daten sind Daten, die sich auf eine (theoretisch identifizierbare) Person beziehen (z.B. Kunden, Mitarbeiter, Bewerber…). Auch die IP-Adresse zählt zu den personenbezogenen Daten, da eine Person mit relativ geringem Aufwand anhand ihrer IP-Adresse identifiziert werden kann. Das heißt: Sobald Sie ein Analyse-Tool (z.B. Google Analytics) verwenden oder Ihr Server Zugriffe protokolliert, verarbeiten Sie personenbezogene Daten. 

Kann ich das Thema einfach ignorieren?

Natürlich ;). Obwohl wir das nicht empfehlen: Bei einem Strafmaß von bis zu 2% (bzw. bis zu 4%) des Jahresumsatzes können Datenschutzvergehen sehr teuer werden. Deshalb lieber Augen zu und durch – einmal begonnen, entpuppt sich die Umsetzung der DSGVO meist als halb so schlimm. 

Keine Panik :)
DSGVO für Unternehmen: Keine Angst vor der der Datenschutzverordnung

DSGVO im Unternehmen

Das bedeutet die neue Verordnung für Ihr Unternehmen

Das Verzeichnis der Verarbeitungstätigkeiten

Ein Verzeichnis der Verarbeitungstätigkeiten benötigen Sie, wenn Sie regelmäßig personenbezogene Daten verarbeiten. Dazu reicht es schon aus, Kontaktdaten per Software zu verwalten oder die Zugriff auf Ihre Website mittels Google Analytics zu erfassen.

In dem Verzeichnis listen Sie auf, wie Ihr Unternehmen mit personenbezogenen Daten umgeht und welche Sicherheitsmaßnahmen Sie zum Schutz dieser Daten treffen.



Inhalt des Verzeichnisses

1
Grundangaben zum Unternehmen

Dieser Teil ist schnell erledigt und besteht aus allgemeinen Angaben wie Firmenname, Kontaktdaten, Firmenbuchnumer, Name des Datenschutzbeauftragten etc.

2
Angabe der Verarbeitungstätigkeiten

Anschließend listen Sie auf, wessen Daten Sie auf welche Art und Weise erfassen, an wen Sie die Daten weitergeben und wie lang Sie diese aufbewahren.

3
Technischen und organisatorische Maßnahmen

In dieser Sektion geben Sie an, wie Sie Ihre Daten vor Verlust und unberechtigtem Zugriff schützen, z.B. durch Backups, Verschlüsselungen, Zutrittskontrollen etc.



Links & Beispiele

  • Informationen zum Verzeichnis der Verarbeitungstätigkeiten
    mehr erfahren

  • Muster-Verzeichnis der WKO
    Download PDF

  • Informationen für Deutschland
    (mit konkretem Beispiel ab Seite 29)
    Download PDF


Auftragsverarbeitungsverträge anfordern


Um personenbezogene Daten rechtssicher an Ihre Dienstleister weitergeben zu können, müssen Sie mit diesen einen Auftragsverarbeitungsvertrag ("Data Processing Agreement") abschließen. Dadurch stellen Sie sicher, dass Ihre Daten lückenlos geschützt sind und rechtskonform verarbeitet werden.

Einen Auftragverarbeitungsvertrag müssen Sie mit allen Firmen abschließen, an die Sie personenbezogene Daten weitergeben: Von der externen Lohnverrechnung über ihren Hosting-Provider bis zu Google & sternpunkt ;). In letzterem Fall schreiben Sie uns bitte an support@sternpunkt.at – wir senden Ihnen gerne unser Data Processing Agreement zu.




Der Datenschutzbeauftragte

Benötige ich einen Datenschutzbeauftragten?

In Österreich benötigen Sie nur dann einen Datenschutzbeauftragten, wenn die Kerntätigkeit Ihres Unternehmens in der regelmäßigen Überwachung von Personen besteht (z.B. bei Banken oder Versicherungen) oder wenn Sie u.a. sensible Daten (Gesundheitsdaten, genetische oder biometrische Daten, Daten von Straftätern etc.) verarbeiten.

In Deutschland müssen Sie schon dann einen Datenschutzbeauftragten bestellen, wenn mehr als 10 Ihrer Mitarbeiter regelmäßig mit der Verarbeitung von personenbezogenen Daten betraut sind.

Wer kann das übernehmen?

Bei dem Datenschutzbeauftragten kann es sich entweder um einen Mitarbeiter oder einen externen Dienstleister handeln. Sie können einen Datenschutzbeauftragten auch freiwillig bestellen. Dieser unterstützt Sie in allen Bereichen zum Thema Datenschutz und hilft Ihnen bei der Umsetzung der notwendigen Maßnahmen.

Aber Achtung: Ein freiwillig bestellter Datenschutzbeauftragten kann nicht ohne weiteres wieder "deinstalliert" werden.

Tipp: Um herauszufinden, ob Sie einen Datenschutzbeauftragten benötigen, reicht oft ein Anruf bei der WKO oder –  für deutsche Unternehmen – bei Ihrer zuständigen Handelskammer.




Los geht's!
Standort der Internetagentur sternpunkt: Mondsee in Oberösterreich

DSGVO für Website & Online Shop

So wird Ihre Onlineauftritt fit für die DSGVO

Ob Website oder Online Shop: Durch die DSGVO sind ein paar Änderungen an Ihrem Webauftritt notwendig. Zur ersten Orientierung listen wir hier die häufigsten Punkte für Sie auf:

Datenschutzerklärung

Die Datenschutzerklärung muss den neuen Kriterien der DSGVO entsprechen: Informieren sie den User über sein Recht auf Auskunft, Berichtigung, Löschung & Widerspruch und erklären Sie, wofür Sie die erhobenen Daten verwenden.

Cookie Notice

Nahezu jede moderne Website verwendet Cookies. Informieren Sie Ihre Besucher über deren Verwendung mit Hilfe eines Cookie-Banners. In der Datenschutzerklärung gehen Sie anschließend näher auf die mittels Cookies erfassten Daten ein.

Formulare

Mit in Kraft treten der DSGVO dürfen Sie nur noch Daten erheben, die Sie auch tatsächlich benötigt. Überprüfen Sie deshalb, welche Eingaben verpflichtend notwendig sind und Verweisen Sie in Ihren Formularen auf die Datenschutzerklärung. Dort erklären Sie, wie Sie die eingeforderten Daten verwenden.

Newsletter

Um die Anmeldung zu Ihrem Newsletter rechtskonform zu gestalten, empfiehlt sich ein Double-Opt-In-Verfahren. Im Anmeldeformular weisen Sie auf den Inhalt des Newsletters und Ihre Datenschutzerklärung hin. Und falls Sie zum Versand Drittanbieter wie Mailchimp oder CleaverReach verwenden: Diese Info gehört in die Datenschutzerklärung, auch benötigen Sie ein Data Processing Agreement von Ihrem Anbieter.

Google Analytics

Um Google Analytics DSGVO-konform zu verwenden, anonymisieren Sie die erfassten IP-Adressen. Auch benötigen Sie einen Auftragsverarbeitungsvertrag mit Google. Die Datenschutzerklärung ergänzen Sie um Informationen zur Datenerhebung mittels Analytics und bieten Opt-Out-Möglichkeiten an.

Facebook Pixel

Wie schon bei AdSense & DoubleClick informieren Sie Ihre Besucher in der Datenschutzerklärung über die Verwendung des Facebook Pixels und bieten Opt-Out-Möglichkeiten an. Falls Sie einen erweiterten Abgleich (Custom Audience, Look-Alike-Audience) einsetzen, muss der User der Datenverwendung in diesem Fall sogar aktiv zustimmen.

Google DoubleClick, AdSense & Co.

Auch die Verwendung dieser Tools sollten Sie Ihren Besuchen nicht verschweigen. Informieren Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung und bieten Sie Opt-Out-Möglichkeiten an. Falls Sie personalisierte Werbung verwenden, ergänzen Sie Ihren Cookie-Banner um einen entsprechenden Hinweis.

Social Sharing Buttons

Ob "gefällt mir", "teilen" oder "retweet": Um Social Sharing Buttons datenschutzkonform zu verwenden, implementieren Sie eine 2-Click-Lösung (z.B. Shariff).

Plugins von Drittanbietern

Google Maps, Google Fonts oder Instagram Plugin? Sobald personenbezogene Daten an Drittanbieter weitergegeben werden, gehört diese Information in Ihre Datenschutzerklärung. Falls möglich, empfiehlt es sich auch hier, Ihren Besucher darauf hinzuweisen, wie die Datenerfassung verhindert werden kann.

Weitere Informationen

Weiterführende Links zur DSGVO

Für Unternehmen aus Österreich:

Weitere Informationen, Mustertexte und eine praktische Checkliste finden Sie auf der Website der WKO: www.wko.at

Eine Übersicht über alle Serviceangebote wie Webinare oder Beratungsmöglichkeiten zum Thema Datenschutz der WKO finden Sie hier.

Für Unternehmen aus Deutschland:

Wenn Sie tiefer in das Thema Datenschutz eintauchen möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen den T3N-Ratgeber. Hier erhalten Sie einen für Nicht-Juristen leicht verständlichen Überblick sowie zahlreiche praktische Muster & Vorlagen: t3n.de

Sie haben Fragen?

Kein Problem! Schreiben Sie uns, wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

support@sternpunkt.at

Das Kleingedruckte:
Die hier angeführten Informationen wurden nach bestem Wissen und Gewissen für Sie zusammen gestellt. Sie beziehen sich – sofern nicht anders erwähnt – auf Österreich. Wir können kein Gewähr für die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit der Angaben übernehmen. Bei Fragen bitten wir Sie, sich an einen zertifizierten Datenschutzbeauftragten oder einen spezialisierten Anwalt zu wenden.